The Blind Faith Disease

The Blind Faith Disease – a condition where a criminal defendant decides to place all of his faith that God will allow him to be acquitted of his charges, despite the overwhelming evidence against him, and he will eschew the advice of his attorney for said irrational belief.

The best non-legal example of the blind faith disease is a bit from one of my heroes: Lewis Grizzard.

Don’t get me wrong. I am happy if my clients find solace and guidance from a higher power. However, I do believe that the dear Lord in his infinite wisdom gave us reason and common sense for us to use it. It really grates on my nerves when I see a client eaten up with this disease. There were many church services where I was not asleep, and I did study the Bible. I do know that most of his disciples met a horrific end. If memory serves me right, the disciple John was the only one that died of natural causes. I do know that the Lord works in mysterious ways, but somehow I do not see him treating a criminal defendant that has confessed to an armed robbery, murder, sex crime, et cetera better than one of his disciples, whose crime was just spreading the Gospel. But, what the hell do I know?

I pose this question to my fellow criminal defense attorney brethren: am I being a tad bit harsh or have y’all experienced this condition firsthand?

Leave a Reply

