Before the Picture fades & Darkness turns to Gray

As Sugarloaf Parkway approaches Georgia Highway 316, the speed limit is 45 mph. I push the accelerator down, and I glide by 65 mph with the greatest of ease. Before my heart can complete another beat, I have passed at least three to four orange construction barrels. The curve awaits me. As I lean into it, the thunderous drum and bass line of “She Sells Sanctuary” blares from my speakers. My pulse quickens as I feel gravity’s pull push me into my seat. People that are more cautious would let off the gas, and let psychics slow the car down. I am not one of them. I laid down the pedal, slingshot out of the curve and onto the thoroughfare. “The world drags me down.” Not today. The open road lies in front of me. This is freedom.

Leave a Reply

