Sunday Night Musings

As I was driving to Atlanta this morning to have lunch with an old friend and her fiance, I was listening to “Big Band Jump,” a radio program that is hosted by Don Kennedy, and plays music from the Big Band Era. A quick aside, kudos to anyone knows the connection between Don Kennedy and Atlanta without resorting to Google. Anyhow, back to the matter at hand, I loved hearing Don’s voice over the radio once again. It was a breath of fresh air from the crap that was on the radio this morning.

I love Big Band music. I have loved it since I heard Harry Connick, Jr. on Saturday Night Live back in 1990. I was a junior in high school. I came home from working at the grocery store. Since my family did not have cable, SNL was the only good thing on television. I cannot put it into words exactly what I felt when I first heard “It Had To Be You,” but it was transcendental. I felt the embers of my souls rekindled into a blazing fire, and it has the same power over me, even to this day.

It was good to see my old friend, and to see her in such good spirits. While the time that I spend with her and her fiance was short, it was good for my soul. I miss having close non-lawyer friends and I miss having time where I can just be me. Plus, anytime I can get to go and eat BBQ is a good time.

Well, I have decided for now to stay with the “Donzell” moniker and not reveal my true identity. I am starting to have a little fun again with being “Donzell.”

Leave a Reply

