Pensive

As I sit here waiting to go to a “party” at this legal conference, I can honestly say that I do not want go to it. Mind you, I don’t have a problem or a hangup about drinking. I just don’t like drinking with other criminal defense attorneys. The conservations always end up back on the practice. That gets old quickly. All I want to do is hang out with my “non-lawyer” friends and drink.

Update:

I had drinks with an attorney that was an albatross around my neck for almost a year, but was not a prosecutor. While the relationship was not hostile, there was a lot of tension between him and I about this particular case. However, he paid for all of my drinks tonight. It made me an expensive date, but I am grateful. It shows that in my profession that despite our differences in the courtroom, attorneys can be friends in the “bar.”

Leave a Reply

