Thou shall not covet . . .

“Listen, it’s too big a world to be in competition with everyone. The only person who I have to be better than is myself. And in your case, that’s tough enough.” — Potter to Hawkeye

I have to remind myself of this quote every time I read the Class Notes section of the magazine from my law school. I read about how some of my classmates are married, having kids, becoming partners, becoming professors, and other astounding feats; then I think what I am doing? Spending time working on cases where brothers rape sisters, wives stab & kill their husbands, people who rob, steal, do drugs, sell drugs, and whatever else your deviant mind can think up, at any given moment. I wade in a torrent of human filth to defend the rights of my clients, to save the few that I can, and not lose my sanity in the process. Yet, what is the reward for my efforts? Contempt from clients, disdain from the general public, and the life that I imagined for myself slowly ebbing away. Despite the waves of pity that wash over me, there is something at the core of my being that smolders, that burns, that doesn’t care what others have or what others will have and what I will do without. “This is my life its what I’ve chosen to do. There are no free rides; no one said it’d be easy.”

Leave a Reply

