A sad day

I am sad. My boss, my mentor, and my friend, John T. died today at the age of 63. During the last few months, I have been struggling to remember the reason why I became a public defender and why I came back to it. I was too blind to see that the answer to my quandary had been in front of me the entire time. The things that made John T. special (a passionate advocate, a desire to help others, an unstoppable will, and a desire to change society for the better) were the reasons that I became a public defender and why I came back to it. I am sad that I will never get the chance to thank John T. for being such an inspiration to me. I just hope that some of his spirit will remain with me, and help guide me to be a better attorney, public defender, and most importantly, a better man.

Leave a Reply

