A Pyrrhic Victory

Day two of jury trials.

Client charged with aggravated Assault upon a Peace Officer (2 counts) and a number of additional minor charges. Client was acquitted of the aggravated Assault charges but convicted of the remaining charges. I anticipated that this would happen. When it came for sentencing, I wanted the client to stay out until his sentencing here because he spent five months in jail before he bonded out and appeared for all of his court dates. Yet, the judge took my client into custody. The only reason I can comprehend is that he was annoyed that the jury did not convict my client for the aggravated Assault charge. While I am happy that my client avoided serious prison time, I am saddened by the fact that my client will have to spend the next 20 days in the county jail before he will be sentenced.

Leave a Reply

