Fear

“So, first of all, let me assert my firm belief that the only thing we have to fear is fear itself – nameless, unreasoning, unjustified terror which paralyzes needed efforts to convert retreat into advance.”

– Franklin D. Roosevelt from his first Inaugural Address.

I have been a criminal defense attorney for almost six years. Even after all that time, a nameless and unreasonable fear comes over me whenever I am about to start a hearing and it does not matter if it is probation revocation hearing, a motion to suppress, or a jury trial. Yet, when I get started with the hearing, I realize that the fear that I am feeling is just that, a feeling. It is something that I control and not the other way around. Then, the fear fades away. My mind starts to focus on what is in front of me and nothing else. After the hearing, it does not matter if I have won or lost, the fear is gone, and I am able to press on. As the Duke once said, “Courage is being scared to death – but saddling up anyway.”

Leave a Reply

