Happy Birthday Maddie.

Madison Partain

This is a picture of my youngest niece, Madison. One year ago, she came into my life. I do not have any children. However, I love my nieces and nephew as if they were my own children. My nieces and nephew bring a great deal of joy and peace into my life. They are the embodiment of the future of my family, and I am their link to our family’s past.

Madison is not with us anymore. Madison and her mother, Kim (my sister-in-law) were killed by drunk driver in an automobile accident on September 13, 2003. My heart was shatterred on that day. I can still remember in painstaking detail what happened on that fateful day.

I do not believe that people get over the death of a loved one. I believe that you learn to cope or manage the grief on a day to day basis. But, today is a very hard day to cope. She would have had her first birthday. She would have been trying to walk, smile, talk, and do the wonderful and memorable things that a one year old child would do.

So, to my wonderful niece, Madison, I wish you a happy birthday. I wish that you were here with us to celebrate it.

One Reply to “Happy Birthday Maddie.”

Leave a Reply

